International Court of Justice (RU)

The International Court of Justice (ICJ) is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations (UN). It was established in June 1945 by the Charter of the United Nations in pursuance of one of the primary purposes of the UN: “to bring about by peaceful means, and in conformity with the principles of justice and international law, adjustment or settlement of international disputes or situations which might lead to a breach of the peace.” The Court operates under a Statute which forms part of the Charter, as well as under its own Rules. It began work in 1946, when it replaced the Permanent Court of International Justice (PCIJ) which had been established in 1920 under tire auspices of the League of Nations.

The Court is composed of 15 judges, who are elected for terms of office of nine years by the United Nations General Assembly and the Security Council. It is assisted by a Registry, its administrative organ. Its official languages are English and French.

International Court of Justice is to become one of the key components in the strategy of peaceful settlement of disputes and disagreements between the states and to ensure law and order in the world.


Maritime Delimitation in the Indian Ocean

List of members

Представитель страны ФранцияВаляровский Федор Иванович
Представитель Кении №1Животова Полина Сергеевна
Представитель Кении №2Матаева Эльвира Анзоровна
Представитель Сомали №1Осипова Татьяна Артемовна
Представитель Сомали №2Даова Фатима Хазреталиевна
Представитель страны АвстралияДоева Мадина Руслановна
Судья, представитель страны БразилияМаммедова Тазагюль Юнус кызы
Судья, представитель страны ВеликобританияМаскова Дисана Артуровна
Судья, представитель страны ИталияНурмуханова Анастасия Армановна
Судья, представитель страны МароккоИбрагимов Сулейман Лемиевич
Судья, представитель страны РоссияБолурова Джамиля Артуровна
Судья, представитель страны СШАКожакова Зульфия Шахарбиевна
Судья, представитель страны ЯмайкаОгрызко Антон Александрович
Судья, представитель страны ЯпонияЭмирбекова Саида Расимовна